13.11.2017
Out-of-Home Media in the context of smart cities

The world experience for Ukrainian future smart cities.
A monthly OAAA Outlook feature article will highlight insights collected from members of the OAAA Innovations Committee. The committee members answer questions related to OOH data, technology, and innovation. Last month's question was: What are some of the most exciting opportunities ahead as the OOH industry converges with smart cities over the next several years? 10 experts from advertising agencies and OOH-operators agreed that smart cities and outdoor advertising are mutually beneficial, and their synergy benefits residents and visitors of the city.

There is enormous potential for the OOH industry to play a key role in supporting new smart cities initiatives. Adding in a monetization component through advertising can help offset the cost of installation and maintenance of new systems, helping city planners see these systems as revenue sources instead of pure cost centers. For example, despite some difficulties in launching and constant maintenance costs, the project of the digital communication network LinkNYC allowed to launch the most important city services at the expense of advertising money and attracted more than 1 million users for less than a year.
Furthermore, as more OOH networks digitize and invest in CMS and operations systems that allow for more flexible delivery of content, there will be new ways for city services, governments and private companies to engage with citizens (for example, we are already seeing OOH being leveraged for emergency notifications and AMBER Alerts; this could be expanded for further information sharing and more interaction).
Outdoor advertising in tandem with the infrastructure of smart cities are guarding the security of citizens, providing them with information panels and access to high-speed Wi-Fi and other services, making staying in the metropolis more comfortable.


In addition, elements of outdoor advertising, such as outdoor furniture, bring a certain aesthetic hatch to the shape of the city with their individual design and they are environmentally friendly; some of them even have solar panels and plant-covered roofs. Read more about street furniture in smart-city projects on Happy Misto site.
городская уличная мебель и наружная реклама
Outdoor advertising in cooperation with mobile and modern technologies (beacons, NFC points, face and car recognition technologies...) can provide the most accurate data allowing advertisers to meet the audience needs and give it unique content.
The more we know about the behavioral characteristics of consumers, the more accurate and effective it is to display content to the right users at the right time. This effectiveness can provide the advantage of OOH advertising in comparison with other media channels. And, of course, increasing the data will mean better forecasting, proactive planning of advertising campaigns, so, outdoor advertising can be a research tool.
According to experts, each OOH carrier will become a kind of data hub for the city, providing it with comprehensive analytics of traffic, pedestrian movements, etc. This will save time and money for the city and allow OOH to increase its importance in the evolution of smart cities; and advertisers with OOH operators will be able to understand the audience better and provide more relevant advertising and content.

13.11.2017
Out-of-Home Media в контексте умных городов

Мировой опыт для будущих smart cities Украины.
Ежемесячно Ассоциация наружной рекламы Америки (OAAA) готовит обзорную статью с авторитетными мнениями членов Инновационного комитета OAAA об актуальных вопросах в отрасли Out-of-Home. Не так давно эксперты обсудили перспективы наружной рекламы в рамках умных городов. 10 экспертов от рекламных агентств и OOH-операторов сошлись во мнении, что умные города и наружная реклама взаимовыгодны друг другу, а их синергия выгодна жителям и гостям города.

Добавление ООН-компонента в систему развития городов помогает компенсировать затраты на установку и обслуживание новых технологичных систем, помогая градостроителям рассматривать их как источник дохода, а не чисто затратные проекты. К примеру, несмотря на некоторые сложности при запуске и постоянные затраты на обслуживание, проект цифровой коммуникационной сети LinkNYC позволил запустить важнейшие городские сервисы за счет рекламных денег и привлек более 1 млн пользователей менее, чем за год.
Сейчас в США происходит оцифровка Outdoor-сетей, операторы инвестируют в их операционные системы, которые позволяют более гибко предоставлять контент, будут появляться новые способы для городских служб, правительств и частных компаний взаимодействовать с гражданами. OOH уже используется для экстренных уведомлений, например, AMBER Alerts — системы оповещения о похищении детей.
Наружная реклама в тандеме с инфраструктурой смарт-городов стоят на страже безопасности горожан, предоставляют им информационные панели и доступ к высокоскоростному Wi-Fi и другие сервисы, делая пребывание в мегаполисе более комфортным.

Кроме того, элементы наружной рекламы, такие как уличная мебель, привносят определенный эстетический штрих в облик города, имея зачастую индивидуальный дизайн, безвредны для окружающей среды, некоторые даже оснащены солнечными панелями или мини-клумбами на крышах. Подробнее об уличной мебели в проектах smart-city читайте на портале Happy Misto.
городская уличная мебель и наружная реклама
Наружная реклама в сочетании с мобильной связью и новейшими технологиями (маячки, точки NFC, технологии распознавания лица и автомобиля…) способна обеспечить точнейшие данные, позволяющие рекламодателям предвидеть потребности аудитории и дать ей уникальный контент.
Чем больше известно о поведенческих особенностях потребителей, тем точнее и эффективнее можно показать контент нужным пользователям в нужное время. Эта эффективность может обеспечить преимущество ООН-рекламы в сравнении с другими медиаканалами. И, конечно же, увеличение данных будет означать лучшее прогнозирование, упреждающее планирование рекламных кампаний, то есть наружная реклама может выступать исследовательским инструментом.
По мнению экспертов, каждый ООН-носитель станет своеобразным хабом данных для города, обеспечивая его всесторонней аналитикой трафика, передвижений пешеходов и т. д. Это сэкономит время и деньги города и позволит OOH увеличить свою значимость в процессе эволюции умных городов, а рекламодателям и ООН-операторам поможет лучше понимать аудиторию и предоставлять более релевантную рекламу и контент.